A different point of view …

September is here, and as Summer Holidays are drawing to a close and we’re getting ready to go back to school, today’s Story from the Museum Floor is a guest post by Antonia, who has been on a Work Experience placement with the Visitor Team here at Manchester Museum this week. As Antonia embarks on the exciting and challenging journey of starting her A-levels, her placement at the museum has given her the opportunity to look at the museum from a different point of view … 

My time at Manchester Museum

It has been extremely interesting to see the museum from a different point of view. Fans of the museum will know that the stunning building paired with the fascinating collection is enough to impress, but being able to see exactly how everything works is an invaluable experience. Coming into the building Monday morning I had no idea what I was about to learn!

800px-The_Manchester_Museum.jpg

On my first day I shadowed a few of the members of the visitor team. As a student making life changing decisions at the moment, having the opportunity to talk to the staff about their roles in the museum has definitely calmed my nerves. The staff are so welcoming here, and everyone has a completely different background. There are academics, doctors (not the medical ones!), artists, and a wide range of people that help to keep the museum at its high standard. I know I would definitely enjoy a job in a museum.

The staff are what brings the collection to life. Having visited the museum before I missed at least 75% of the information I now know about the objects. Being with the people who are clearly passionate about the history of Manchester, now I understand the importance of preserving the collection. They know so much about the galleries – if you’re visiting, make sure you ask the staff more about the objects! This has really opened my eyes to why we need museums today, so I will definitely be visiting a lot more in the future.

IMG_2904Photo © Antonia Jameson, one of the images from her #WorkExperienceTakeover of Manchester Museum’s Instagram.

I think my favourite part of working at the museum has been talking to people. The public, the staff and the volunteers all bring a different element to experiencing the museum. Standing at the handling tables I have learnt about engaging the public, from babies to grandparents, and even discovering new things alongside the visitors to the museum as the volunteers talk about their area of expertise. Sometimes a visitor would add to the discussion and everyone would learn something new!

IMG_2903Photo © Antonia Jameson, another Instagram takeover shot – showing her passion for the ancient history! 

I am so grateful to have done this work experience and I’ve really enjoyed it. If you haven’t visited the museum yet, make sure you give it a try soon. There truly is something for everyone here; whether you like dinosaurs, the Egyptians, minerals, archaeology, coins, taxidermy, plants or even tree frogs! I guarantee you will learn something new and have fun doing it.

Antonia Jameson

With many thanks to all of the staff and volunteers at the museum who helped make Antonia’s placement such a memorable experience. And we all wish Antonia the best of luck in her future studies and beyond!

If this has inspired you to get involved, Manchester Museum and the Whitworth offer a joint one week Work Experience programme for secondary school students. Please be aware this is a very popular offer and places are limited.

And have a look at our current Volunteer opportunities. The roles available vary, but volunteers are at the heart of everything we do at Manchester Museum, contributing to the work of the Museum in many different ways!

Leave a comment